BVDUB & IAN HAWGOOD: The Truth Hurts (Nomadic Kids Republic)

themilkman on Aug 9th 2011 01:15 am

Bvdub & Ian Hawgood: The Truth Hurts

The Truth Hurts
Nomadic Kids Republic 2011
04 Tracks. 73mins20secs

Amazon UK: CD | DLD US: CD | DLD Boomkat: CD | DLD iTunes: DLD

The inaugural release on Ian Hawgood’s new Nomadic Kids Republic imprint, The Truth Hurts is the first collaborative effort between Hawgood and Brock Van Wey, but it is not quite their first encounter. The pair were introduced by Mike Oliver, the man behind the former London-based shop-come-label Smallfish, and Van Wey soon released an album on Hawgood’s Home Normal under his  Bvdub moniker.

The Truth Hurts is a rather impressive collection of ethereal atmospheric electronic music, counting just four lengthy contemplative compositions. Built from recordings Hawgood had gathered over the course of twelve years, which served as starting point for Van Wey to arrange them around his own music to create this forever shifting ambient collection. Continue Reading »

Filed in Albums | Comments Off

VARIOUS ARTISTS: Ambient Pop 2010 (Kompakt)

themilkman on Feb 2nd 2010 12:57 am

V/A: Ambient Pop 2010

Ambient Pop 2010
Kompakt 2010
13 Tracks. 75mins07secs

Amazon UK: CD Amazon US: CD Boomkat: CD | LP | DLD iTunes: DLD

Kompakt’s Pop Ambient series has become an unavoidable feature in the music calendar, each year delivering a new contingent of ambient tunes carved by some of the masters of the genres, yet, despite gaining much praises, these collections have at times proved something of a lacklustre affair, and this tenth edition in the series is no different. Gathering a number of Kompakt regulars (Mikkel Metal, DJ Koze, Jürgen Paape, Dettinger, Thomas Felhmann) and occasional contributors (The Orb, Triola, Popnoname), with label boss Wolfgang Voigt curating the project and contributing, this latest display delivers its fair share of hopeful twists and forgettable turns over its seventy five minutes. Continue Reading »

Filed in Albums | Comments Off